Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration

Comprised of twelve bureaus and offices with expertise ranging from standards and technology, to patents, to international trade, the mission of the Department of Commerce is to create the conditions for economic growth and opportunity in the United States.

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) provides science-based information critical for keeping businesses and the U.S. economy informed about the changing environment influencing our nation’s economic decisions and business investments. From daily weather forecasts, severe storm warnings and climate monitoring, to fisheries management, coastal restoration and supporting marine commerce, NOAA’s science-based products and services support economic vitality and affect more than one-third of America’s gross domestic product.

NOAA’s National Marine Fisheries Service (NOAA Fisheries), the nation’s leading authority and recognized global leader on the science-based management and stewardship of living marine resources—including wild-capture and farmed fisheries.

Responsible for the management, conservation and protection of living marine resources within the U.S. Exclusive Economic Zone and for the management of U.S.-flagged vessels fishing in international waters, NOAA Fisheries works with the international community to globally establish accountable stewardship practices comparable to those that have become the signature of fisheries management in the United States and the sustainable seafood they provide. Three offices under NOAA Fisheries are working to provide an ocean-to-plate approaches: 
Office of International Affairs, Trade and Commerce
Office of Law Enforcement 


In addition to its leadership of U.S. delegations to and engagement in several Regional Fishery Management Organizations and other multi-lateral management and conservation agreements, NOAA Fisheries has broad domestic and international fisheries management authorities. These statutes include:
• Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act
• Marine Mammal Protection Act
• High Seas Driftnet Fishing Moratorium Protection Act
• Shark Conservation Act
• Endangered Species Act
• Lacey Act
• Implementing legislation for treaties creating various RFMOs